The Forums Are Now Closed!

The content will remain as a historical reference, thank you.

This is how to recognize ignorant Americans :)

By on December 30, 2014 1:28:34 PM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

woody-soft

Join Date 10/2012

I was just updating my forum account, changing some minor information, when I got an error "Letters only please" on my Firstname field (which I didn't even touched)

The content is "Jürgen", which consists of just regular letters and no numbers, but some stupid programmer decided that something inside that text is "NOT A LETTER".  Since we're dealing here with a highly sophisticated programmers company, may I just point out (since I'm also a programmer), that 

a ) this is a wrong errormessage (maybe he meant "A-Z only"?)

b ) The thrown error is wrong (since an "ü" is a valid letter)

c ) that guy should really learn that the world is no more 7Bit ASCII; that the world and also Stardocks customers and users aren't Americans only

d ) and that there's no technical reason to block non-american characters.

e ) maybe you could donate him a book like "Regular Expressions for Dummies" so that he can enhance his checking algorythm

f ) and how was I able to enter that "non-letter" character earlier, and why did he added that stupid check later on?

Of course that problem is just a nuisance, but it's holiday season, I have spare time , and from a programmers POV this was just a lousy job done.   Thus I really wonder if I should update my subscription, if those folks don't even get simple things like Umlauts sorted out...  (ok, just joking!)

Have a nice New Year!

Jürgen Wondzinski

Locked Post 54 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
December 30, 2014 2:41:37 PM from Elemental Forums Elemental Forums