The Forums Are Now Closed!

The content will remain as a historical reference, thank you.

mid player wants advice

By on January 28, 2011 11:42:37 AM from Demigod Forums Demigod Forums

i_am_memory

Join Date 12/2003

hello all, especially those pwning me recently.

well, I worked feverishly for my first 150 games to get a good stat.  It was easy to do because I was a noob, better than other noobs, and I held a 60%.  Plus I got some advice from someone (can't remember who, but I think it was whoever I_htya was before the new account) about a good occ build.  I was such a good noob that someone accused me of smurfing (I had to ask what that was).  Thought I was ready for the mid-level.

I think 150 games simply means you have now earned the right to get pounded by those who are really good!   I was good enough that no one was kicking me from games, but not good enough to contribute well.  As evidence of the increased competition, now my percent has slipped to 50 and it is because some subtle nuances have eluded me.  And I can't figure out what they are.

I can maul nightmare, but who can't exploit the ai?  I have read all the strat guides, even those before the game balance or new dg's.  I have watched replays.  I practice and work time-tested builds.  I've picked the brains of those better than me.  But something is eluding me, and I don't know what it is.

Where else to look?  send me advice, plz.  Is it just a matter of more games (ie, a 200 game mid cannot hope to compete with a 2000 game mid, so play 1800 more and then we'll talk)?

Time to get away from occ?  like work on my oak/erb/ub skills?

Get on vent with someone?

I want to contribute more and dislike being the weakest link on my team.  And I don't want to slip below 50%!  Thanks in advance.

Locked Post 15 Replies
Search this post
Subscription Options

Reason for Karma (Optional)
Successfully updated karma reason!
January 28, 2011 12:15:57 PM from Demigod Forums Demigod Forums