The Forums Are Now Closed!

The content will remain as a historical reference, thank you.

Demigod: Inside the sausage factory

By on April 28, 2009 12:55:31 PM from JoeUser Forums JoeUser Forums

Frogboy

Join Date 03/2001
+1469

To say it has been a difficult 2 weeks would be an understatement.  I’ve been making PC games for about 15 years and never in that time have I encountered a situation quite like what we’ve had with Demigod.

As most of you know, Demigod is an awesome game. If I may be so bold, Demigod is one of the best games that has been released in the last couple of years.  And yet, here we are, 2 weeks after release and the included multiplayer matchmaking is still flakey.

I would put it like this (based on logs and talking to people)

• 30% of users think the multiplayer matchmaking works flawlessly. You don’t hear much from them (obviously).
  • 60% of users are finding the multiplayer matchmaking to be flakey. It works but it’s a pain in the ass to get into a game sometimes.
  • 10% of users cannot be connected to other users period.

That last number will go up if the proxy servers aren’t put in place prior to the official European release as that last 10% is almost exclusively made up of people using ADSL in Europe.

So how did this happen?

Losing Messages

The single biggest problem has to do with lost messages.  In the beta, when we had only a couple thousand people using the system, it worked pretty well.  At first, it was pretty flakey but as we added more servers to handle the connections, the success rate went way up and by the end it was pretty perfect.  To be safe, we added extra servers to handle the expected extra players.