The Forums Are Now Closed!

The content will remain as a historical reference, thank you.

My review so far... (feedback for the Devs)

By on April 18, 2009 5:20:50 PM from Demigod Forums Demigod Forums

This a very preliminary review of the game. For background I'm an experienced WC3 raider (Sarth + 3D Heroic Glory of the Raider guild), WC3 player (ranked on Azeroth), and a distant Starcraft player. Overall I'm a decent player at these kinds of games, not great but usually competent once I learn the ropes. Obviously I'm also a Blizzard fan. Right now, I'm a noob at Demigod but plan to stick with it and get much better.

The idea of a DOTA style game intrigued me, so I bought Demigod. And that's where I am. So here's my feedback:

1.) Connectivity: It still takes too long to get into multiplayer action. I've been able to get into custom, skirmish, and Pantheon modes and in each mode it just...takes...a...long...time...to...get...a...game...going. By comparison WC3 ladder games are usually up and running w/in 2 minutes after I click "Play Game". That should be a goal for the matchmaking logic of DG. Definitely needs improvement.

2.) Art: Fantastic. I love the style and execution. Has both masculine and feminine aspects that I like. Other than the rook, I think the hero models are too small. I think it would be nice to increase their size and visibility in a crowd.

3.) Graphics. I have a very nice rig w/ almost everything maxed out. Runs smooth. It's a little choppy on my older system. Light effects are nice. I love the animations and the monster/player models.

4.) User Interface: Nice to start with but I like MORE INFORMATION and utility. Here are some suggestions.

a.) Make the player hero icon and center bottom of screen a "targetable" icon. This would help Sedna heal herself by making her easier to target in a crowd.