Help me out (noobie here)

By on August 16, 2011 11:13:02 PM from Stardock Forums Stardock Forums

ialreadykne...

Join Date 08/2011
+1

So I'm new to the game, I was always interested in it but heard internet connectivity was @!% at the time. I hear now that things are better, and have bought the game and it will arrive here in a couple days...

First things first: which demigod do you think is the most difficult to play? I tend to learn best with my first character, so whoever I end up using first I will learn quickly - for me, I think it's best that I learn the "most difficult" demigod to play.

second thing is my style of play. I've played a lot of games so I know what I tend to like and hate. Back when I played World of warcraft (which i hear is similar to this) My favorite hero to use was Demon Hunter for his mana burn. (just letting you get a feel of the style of pvp I like to play as)

I like Mages (namely for their huge AOE aka area of effect  damage)

I like to support allies and disrupt enemies. (very nice feeling knowing you stopped an important skill)

sometimes I like to heal. (everyone loves the healer)

The thing that has me confused is the whole General and Assassin thing I have also looked up some builds on the wiki and some of the demigods seem to not play as what the whole general/assassin thing would suggest.

from what I gather, Assassin mostly focuses on himself and killing the enemies

while the general focuses on more units and support.

Is this accurate?

I'm thinking the assassin type of demigod would fit me better. However while reading the sedna guide, I notice that most think yeti's are terrible, so she seems like she would play as more of an assassin role (while of course healing) most of the time. some other demigod guides seem to do the same.

The demigods I think fit me best are:

Oak (General, but he does support and shield)

Sedna (healer)

Torchbearer or Oculus (mage)

I'm not sure who would be the best disrupt guy...