The Forums Are Now Closed!

The content will remain as a historical reference, thank you.

ability to filter players who can join custom games

By on May 27, 2010 3:24:47 AM from Demigod Forums Demigod Forums

findapollo

Join Date 02/2007

I've only had the game a week or so and have played 5 hours in multiplayer and probably 3-5x that much in singleplayer.  I'm a noob, and I'm okay with that.  I want to play online because AI seems to be getting repetitive quickly.  The computer always behaves the same whereas real people never do.  However, I don't really want to play with experts.  We get it: you've played hundreds of hours and are good.  Go pick on somebody your own level. 

Most people title thier custom games by the skill level: Noob, Mid/Avg, etc. but there is no way to enforce it and apparently nobody pays attention to it.  If there was a few options for the game host to set criteria on number of games, minutes played, overall rank, etc. of players allowed in it'd make it possible to actually get what you want.  I want to create a game for novices like myself and not get slaughtered by some guy that thinks it's funny that he can walk all over us.  I've looked up a few players online after a match and they've played for over 150 hours, yet joined a game asking for beginners.  It seems stats getting reset happens quite a bit which makes it possible for experts to pass themselves off as a beginner.  Or is it because it only shows number games played in last 30 days?  Maybe they don't play custom games and have just come from being bored in the Pantheon.  Who knows, they should not join games meant for novices but there's nothing stopping them.  Better yet, don't even display these custom games to them based off the criteria set by the host.