The Forums Are Now Closed!

The content will remain as a historical reference, thank you.

Question for Frogboy: WTF is crunch mode?

By on January 21, 2009 10:40:07 PM from Demigod Forums Demigod Forums

I am very curious about this "crunch mode" phenomenon. I fail to understand what it is. Currently my definition is:

A time in the life-cycle of software where developers are forced to spend massive overtime in an attempt to fix up the product on time.

This is very curious to me, because as a programmer I feel that I always work at my full capacity. Any less would be dishonest and a waste of both my and my employer's time, not to mention that sitting idle at work = boredom! In addition since I keep my managers updated on whats going on, they are aware that I might go over the deadline due to XYZ circumstances and to compensate they need to either cut features or get additional developers.

So when I hear about these crunch modes, what does it mean? Are you sitting there with leather whips hitting the developers and screaming "TYPE FASTER!"? Are you injecting caffene directly into their veins so they don't get tired? Are you making them work 14 hr shifts?

Since deadlines that I deal with don't invole shipping a game at a promised date with drooling fans sitting waiting till stores open on the release date to buy the game, I don't know what it's like in the game development world. The only idea I have is from EA's practice of making employees work 14 hr shifts 7 days a week (ok fine that was a few years ago.)

Please shed some light on what crunch time in stardock means.

+3 Karma | 14 Replies
January 21, 2009 11:03:20 PM from Demigod Forums Demigod Forums

I'm going to speak from experience, but not Stardock experience. Now, people in the gaming industry have lives they try to enjoy and families they want to support and be there for. The beauty about "non-crunch time" is that you can leave work as your pre-determined time, or at least around that time.